Movie Reviews

Borat: Subsequent Moviefilm (2020)

borat-2-subsequent-movie-film-poster-2020Director: Jason Woliner

Genre: Comedy

Runtime: 95 Minutes

Main Cast: Sacha Baron Cohen, Maria Bakalova, Dani Popescu, Manuel Vieru

Plot: 14 years after the events of Borat (2006), our beloved Kazakh friend returns to America with his daughter in order to deliver her to Mike Pence, hoping that this gift will result in the two countries finding peace once again.

My Thoughts:  Just when you think 2020 can’t get any stranger, Sacha Baron Cohen is back with a new Borat movie! How on earth has it been 14 years since the original?! It feels like only yesterday that I was at college and we’d all be saying “I like!” or “very nice!”. I got so confused with the release date though, I’ve been spoiled by Wednesday Netflix releases so assumed Borat would be Wednesday too…sad! Anyway -I’m giving you a spoiler warning from this point down because it’s impossible to talk about a movie of this nature without giving anything away.

It’s not as good as the original for the most part but it never could be, the character is too well known to have that level of anonymity ever again. But it has some absolutely cracking moments that more than makes up for it. A lot of the sequel is clearly scripted and those moments aren’t as strong, although Maria Bakalova as Borat’s daughter was a great addition, she’s genuinely really funny.  I still can’t get over the fact that so much of the movie was made during lockdown in Spring, though. It’s incredible really, and it’ll be fascinating to relive some of those moments years later.

What I enjoyed the most was seeing the very best and worst in people. The lady that Borat left his daughter with was trying so hard to do the right thing, and that little old Jewish lady? She’s the most wholesome lady on the planet, I swear. Then of course you have the two men that Borat quarantines with…wow! If you thought the song from the original about throwing Jews down the well was shocking…wait till the anti-lockdown protest! My favourite line has to be at the dress shop, “where is the no means yes section?”!

borat-sacha-baron-cohen-quarantine-covid

Best Bit: Don’t even try to tell me that wasn’t one of the greatest plot twists in cinematic history. Forget conspiring that China manufactured Coronavirus, stop burning down 5G masts…it was Borat himself who spread it around the world! I love it, I actually screamed a little at that part and I’m not ashamed to admit it.

Worst Bit: I mean, Rudy Giuliani is all I need to say here. Look mate, no-one believes you were just tucking your shirt in. But let’s not give him our time. I’m all for gross humour but Borat’s daughter dancing at that ball was just too much for me!

Fun Trivia: Sacha Baron Cohen sat nearly five hours in a toilet stall at the 2020 CPAC (Conservative Political Action Conference) until Vice President Mike Pence was about to appear on stage.

My Rating: 4 out of 5 baby shower cupcakes…please don’t eat the baby…

borat-subsequent-2-baby-shower-cupcake

9 thoughts on “Borat: Subsequent Moviefilm (2020)

  1. So far, I’ve only seen the parts up to the debutante ball as it’s pretty goddamn funny. Rudy Guiliani… oh he is a bad man. I hope he goes to prison real soon. That way, he’ll understand what it’s like to be objectified and maybe become a popular party toy for all of the prisoners whom he put in prison in the first place. RUDY… COME OUT AND PLAY! NOW BOY!!!!!!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.