Movie Reviews

It (2017)

it-2017-movie-review-red-balloonDirector: Andy Muschietti

Genre: Horror, Thriller

Runtime: 135 Minutes

Main Cast: Jaeden Martell, Sophia Lillis, Finn Wolfhard, Jack Dylan Grazer, Jeremy Ray Taylor, Chosen Jacobs, Wyatt Oleff, Bill Skarsgard, Nicholas Hamilton, Jake Sim

Plot: Set in the Summer of 1989, a group of kids known as the Losers Club team up to destroy a shape-shifting monster that plagues their town of Derry every 27 years.

My Thoughts: I imagine most married couples on their 3rd Wedding Anniversary go out for a candlelit meal and reminisce about their big day and tell each other how much they love each other. They probably buy each other sweet gifts, too. Not us! I got him a deposit paid and an appointment booked for a tattoo, and he bought me my own domain name for the blog – I’m officially http://oftenofftopic.co.uk! Also – we stayed in, put the little one to bed and watched the scariest movie we’ve ever seen, whilst making fun of each other’s faces. Who says love is dead?

I’m sure you guys can list off several movies scarier than 2017’s It, but we’re wimps and we scare easily. To be honest, we both wanted to see It mainly because we’d heard that it’s actually a really decent movie – and it is! I loved the ‘Stand By Me’ vibe the movie had, the group of kids had such a real friendship and they all shone in their own ways. I guess it’s impossible to not mention it’s similarities to Stranger Things – that show sure took a lot of inspiration from this.

I’ve come to admit recently that I’m starting to become a fan of horror movies, but the one thing I can’t stand are jump scares for the sake of them. There aren’t any here. There are loads of moments that terrified me, but I got caught off guard and the scares were integral parts of the story. This is how I want to be scared! It and Hereditary are definitely my top horror picks so far.

it-2017-stand-by-me-youll-float-too

Best Bit: The scene where the kids are together and the old film reel starts playing all by itself. Each time it flicks you can see Pennywise the clown get closer and then…bam! We both literally jumped out of our seats and then started laughing at ourselves.

Worst Bit: I don’t think there was a weak moment in all honesty, but the final showdown between the kids and Pennywise dragged on for a little too long. It kind of felt at that point there were no scares left and the movie was just going through the motions towards its conclusion.

Fun Trivia: Some lines of dialogue were improvised by the actors. Much of the Richie / Eddie banter was improv. Jack Dylan Grazer (Eddie) actually wrote a lot of Finn Wolfhard’s (Richie) jokes.

My Rating: 4 and a half arm casts out of 5, which you shouldn’t let someone sign for you if you’re a member of the Losers Club…

it-2017-arm-cast-losers-club

16 thoughts on “It (2017)

  1. I saw this last year on HBO/Cinemax and it surprised the hell out of me. I enjoyed it more than I thought. I liked the young cast and the fact that it didn’t go into the PG-13 route.

    Like

  2. I couldn’t think of a better way to spend an anniversary. My wife begs to differ, but that’s beside the point. Really happy you guys both enjoyed the movie. It’s a really fun ride. I’m looking forward to Chapter 2.

    Like

  3. Those are pretty sweet gifts, I’d say! And like the others say, it’s the perfect way to spend an anniversary with things you both enjoy. 🙂

    About the movie, I couldn’t agree more. Can’t wait to see It: Chapter 2!

    Like

  4. Happy (belated) anniversary! I’m so glad you liked this, it’s one of my favorite horror movies to come out recently. I’m excited for the sequel.

    Like

  5. Hell yeah, I think you guys have the gift giving business down, in my opinion! So pleased to hear you’re starting to enjoy the horror genre more. There is a lot of crap in it, but there are also absolute gems there. As for It, it’s really such a goodie and the kids are great here. I cannot wait for Part 2!

    Like

  6. I really enjoyed this one (it’s much better than the original adaptation), although I still think the only way to properly adapt this book is by making a TV show. I’m also a bit bummed that they seperated the timelines and place the kids/adults in their respective parts of the film. The back and forth had been an important part of the book, so I missed that on screen.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.