Movie Reviews

Avengers: Endgame (2019)

avengers-endgame-2019-movie-reviewDirector: Anthony Russo, Joe Russo

Genre: Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Fantasy

Runtime: 181 Minutes

Main Cast: Robert Downey Jr., Chris Evans, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Hemsworth, Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Renner, Don Cheadle, Paul Rudd, Benedict Cumberbatch, Chadwick Boseman, Brie Larson, Tom Holland, Karen Gillan, Zoe Saldana, Evangeline Lilly,

Plot: Directly following the events of Avengers: Infinity War and Thanos’ snap with the infinity gauntlet that wiped out 50% of all living creatures. The remaining Avengers team up to try to save them.

My Thoughts: This has to be the biggest movie event of all time. 21 movies spanning 11 years. All leading up to this very moment, it’s incredible when you really think about it. Some idiot posted a leak before its release which I managed to avoid but other than that, my social media feeds have been free of spoilers which I’m truly grateful for. I felt excited, sick and nervous going in to see Endgame on Tuesday night! There are spoilers ahead for the entire movie because I have no idea how to talk about it otherwise.

The trailers gave nothing away, and please, please movie gods, let all trailers do this. There’s no better feeling than not having any clue as to what’s going to happen, or even how your favourite character is going to look! Honestly, I struggle to find the words because the movie was perfect – in my eyes at least. The focus may have been on the original Avengers but every character got their spot of the limelight and the ending was so fitting. It’s the end of an era and although some of the character arcs were devasting, it ended exactly how it should have done.

Do you know what, though? I started this post almost a week ago and I’m struggling to even put my thoughts into words. It was more than just a movie, it was an experience, and I’m so excited to see where the Marvel universe goes next!

avengers-endgame-iron-man-captain-america-2019

Best Bit: I’m going to cheat and pick two because arguably, the best scenes were the farewells that we gave to our retiring Avengers, but what Marvel does better than the rest is humour, and the scene with Thor and Korg playing Fortnite absolutely killed me. I laughed so loud I probably missed half of it, but it’s not like I needed an excuse to watch the movie again!

Worst Bit: Fat Thor! On a serious note, it’s a completely logical arc for his character to go through, but my selfish-ass wanted to perv on Thor for 3 hours!

Fun Trivia: At Tony Stark’s funeral, a teenage boy is seen standing behind Scarlet Witch and Bucky. This is Harley Keener (Ty Simpkins), the boy from Iron Man 3 (2013) who let Tony use his shed when he needed to repair his Iron Man suit.

My Rating: 5 out of 5 empty taco shells from Ant-Man. Hopefully, Hulk has a few more to share!

avengers-endgame-ant-man-taco-shell

19 thoughts on “Avengers: Endgame (2019)

  1. Yeah for remaining unspoiled! I agree with you about trailers I think the new Spider-Man gave away a bit much 😦

    After he gets the hammer and cleaned up a bit I still perved I don’t know but he was giving me some serious Odin-lite/older Thor vibes. It works for me. Glad you enjoyed the film!

    Like

  2. Hulk sharing his tacos with Scott Lang was awesome. I guess Hulk returned the favor after Ant-Man stole his Coke some years ago and returned it to him only for the two to share it.

    Like

      1. I always like to think of that commercial as part of the MCU!!!! storyline. Plus, I think it was a good thing to see Hulk learn to share and make himself and everyone else happy. I know people complain about what happened to the Hulk but I think in terms of his character development and story arc. It makes sense.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ohhhh that’s who that boy at the funeral was!!! Thanks for enlightening me 😀

    I couldn’t help my shocked gasp when they first showed Thor. I did enjoy the irony of always wanting more shirtless Chris Hemsworth scenes, and now getting a really long one, even if it felt a little cruel to deprive us!

    Like

  4. Great post! I really loved Endgame too, which somehow managed to exceed my high expectations. It’s just such an ambitious giant that’s exciting, moving, and hilarious all at once. The taco scene had me in stitches. I can’t wait to revisit the film.

    And I did not recognise Ty Simpkins at all. Six whole years since Iron Man 3, wow!

    Like

  5. Glad you were able to see this one without being spoiled! I totally agree – it has to be the biggest movie of all-time, and it’s gonna be pretty hard for another movie (Marvel related or not) to beat this one.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.