Movie Reviews

Captain Marvel (2019)

captain-marvel-2019-movie-poster-reviewDirector: Anna Boden, Ryan Fleck

Genre: Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi

Runtime: 124 Minutes

Main Cast: Brie Larson, Samuel L. Jackson, Ben Mendelsohn, Jude Law, Annette Bening, Lashana Lynch, Clark Gregg, Rune Temte, Lee Pace

Plot: When a mission goes wrong, Vers finds herself on Earth. Whilst trying to get back home, she struggles with the fact she remembers little of her past. When captured by Yon-Rogg, she sees glimpses of who she used to be, leading to more confusion.

My Thoughts: There hasn’t been a single movie in the MCU that I haven’t really enjoyed, so although I was fairly certain Captain Marvel would be great I was never really sold on the trailers so I was also a little hesitant. It was nothing to do with the character or Brie Larson herself, I was just unsure where the movie itself fitted in with the rest of the story. I certainly wasn’t one of the disgusting internet trolls who had a problem with a female lead or, ridiculously, the shape of Brie Larson’s butt. Human’s are so gross sometimes.

Anyway, I had such a good time watching Captain Marvel! Our cinema screen was absolutely packed and it was opening night in the UK so there was a great atmosphere in the room. Brie Larson was amazing – she kicked ass and she had a really dry, witty sense of humour that worked so well. This is probably my favourite Marvel movie for Samuel L. Jackson who provided most of the laughs this time around. He was so funny!

The special effects, of course, were stellar as expected. What blew me away though was the technology used to de-age Samuel L. Jackson. It was absolutely unreal – I wonder if it’ll garner any attention when awards season rocks up next year? I think what I enjoyed the most was the mystery element of Captain Marvel’s background. I knew nothing about her going in so everything was a surprise to me, and I loved putting the pieces together as the movie went on.

captain-marvel-brie-larson-samuel-l-jackson

Not long to go at all now until Avengers: End Game! I told my toddler to be on her best behaviour when my parents babysat her so we could see Captain Marvel. Hopefully, she put on her cutest face so they’ll babysit again soon!

Best Bit: Goose, the cat. He was straight up adorable from the moment he showed up, but I kept getting the feeling there was more than meets the eye. Then we find out that he’s a ‘Flurkin’ (sp?) rather than a cat…and then? Thanos better watch out.

Worst Bit: It took me a while to wrap my head around what was going on, to begin with. It was probably my Mum-brain not running at full capacity but I wanted a moment to pause the movie to ask the room to fill me in on what was going on.

Fun Trivia: When Talos confronts Carol and Nick in Louisiana, he sips from a fast food drink container. It is the exact same design as the cup that Jules (played by Samuel L. Jackson) sips in the scene in Pulp Fiction (1994) where they steal back the briefcase.

My Rating: 4 out of 5 retro lunchboxes, perfect for storing your most important possessions!

captain-marvel-retro-lunch-box-2019

21 thoughts on “Captain Marvel (2019)

  1. My screening had SUCH a great time too! The movie was so funny, it wasn’t perfect (the beginning was so slow) but it was fun and Carol is such a great character

    Like

  2. Correction, the cat’s name is Goose. How can anyone not love that cat? Even Fury got soft over him. Yet, I did hear that the cat was partially CGI because Brie Larson in real life is allergic to cats.

    Like

  3. I agree with the de-aging tech. It was so natural that I forgot they did it. lol. I just instantly accepted Fury and Coulson looking like that. I had a good time with this too. I didn’t care for the beginning but as soon as she hit Earth it picked up.

    Like

  4. I knew about the trolls, but I did not know about the “butt” thing. Geez. I’ve heard people compare her to Gal Gadot’s Wonder Woman too, but really, these two are incomparable, and are awesome in their own way!

    Anyhu, Captain Marvel was a blast! I too am super excited to see her be awesome in Endgame! (The trailer with Thor was aaargh!) (also, you should go see the video of Goose getting ready to see the Captain Marvel movie :D)

    Like

  5. Nice review! I agree – the beginning moves quite fast, it’s a lot to take in, but I felt like the story developed better over time. I couldn’t believe how well the technology de-aged Samuel too. I thought it might be weird, but I didn’t even notice.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.