Movie Reviews

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World (2019)

how-to-train-dragon-hidden-world-posterDirector: Dean DeBlois

Genre: Animation, Action, Adventure, Family

Runtime: 104 Minutes

Main Cast: Jay Baruchel, America Ferrera, F. Murray Abraham, Cate Blanchett, Gerard Butler, Craig Ferguson, Jonah Hill, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Kristen Wiig, Kit Harington

Plot: After rescuing countless dragons, Hiccup and the rest of the clan are rapidly outgrowing the Isle of Berk. They’re also becoming well-known to other, nefarious clans with sinister motives.

My Thoughts: There was no way that I would miss seeing a How to Train Your Dragon movie but truth be told, I wasn’t a fan of the second one. I was annoyed when what could have been a great plot twist was flaunted in every single trailer, and the whole thing just seemed messy. That said, I’m super happy to say that The Hidden World goes back to its simpler routes, and is a really satisfying finale to the series.

Toothless of course is the star of the show again, this time he’s found a female Night Fury (or Light Fury) and becomes rather lovesick – not helpful when you’re the alpha in the pack and your entire clan is on the run of course. The scenes where he’s trying to impress his love interest are nothing but adorable and quite hilarious!

What is it about animated family movies that make me cry so much? Scrap that – we all know that everything makes me cry now but still! As an almost 30-year-old woman, I should have seen where the story was going but I didn’t and my heart broke into tiny little pieces.

how-to-train-dragon-hidden-world-hiccup-astryd

Still, I love how it was all tied up in the end. It was the perfect ending and so magical for children, too. I wish every series would end on a high like this, instead of churning out sequel after sequel until no one cares anymore.

Best Bit: SAND. Sorry Anakin but you should see how pretty the sand is! It sounds silly I know but it just shows how amazing technology is these days. The visuals in the whole movie were amazing, and I loved the dragon scale armor that Hiccup and the gang wore too. Seriously cool!

Worst Bit: The whole ‘Berk is more than this island, WE are Berk’ speech sounded really familiar. Have you guys been watching Thor: Ragnarok lately?

Fun Trivia: DreamWorks Animation’s first trilogy in which each movie was distributed by a different film studio: Paramount distributed How to Train Your Dragon (2010), 20th Century Fox distributed How to Train Your Dragon 2 (2014), and Universal will be distributing How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World (2019).
(For such a fun movie, all the trivia I could find was really dull!)

My Rating: 3 and a half Viking sailboats, riding towards the misty waterfalls…

how-train-dragon-hidden-world-viking-boat

6 thoughts on “How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World (2019)

  1. I was late to the How to Train Your Dragon franchise but I have enjoyed every minute of it. I’m with you that the second film was the weakest of the bunch. However, overall it is an epic trilogy. 3 wrapped up the series in a great, fitting, and satisfactory way. Toothless was the cutest he has ever been! With this fantastic conclusion, this has become one of the best trilogies in cinema.

    Like

    1. Absolutely, Drew! I wish more franchises would plan out their movies this way with a good conclusion, rather than just leaving every movie open to a sequel depending on how well it does in terms of money. Makes for a much better experience!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.