Movie Reviews

The Favourite (2018)

the-favourite-movie-review-poster-2018Director: Yorgos Lanthimos

Genre: Drama, Comedy, History

Runtime: 119 Minutes

Main Cast: Olivia Colman, Rachel Weisz, Emma Stone, Nicholas Hoult, Joe Alwyn, Mark Gatiss, Jenny Rainsford, James Smith, Tim Ingall, LillyRose Stevens, Liam Fleming

Plot: Set in 18th Century England, Queen Anne’s palace is thrown into chaos by the arrival of Abigail, the cousin of the Queen’s closest friend. A rivalry breaks out between the two as they fight to be the favourite.

My Thoughts: It’s been a whole week and I still don’t know how I feel about this movie. Really I should have known better because this is my 3rd Lanthimos movie (I’ve also seen The Lobster and The Killing of a Sacred Deer) and I’m not sure how I feel about those movies either. Pun not intended however – The Favourite is definitely my favourite out of the three.

I usually can’t stand Period Dramas but I’ll literally watch Emma Stone in any movie she does, and the amazingly positive praise I’ve read so far in reviews actually got me quite hyped up to see this in the end. I was joined in my screen by a pair of little old ladies…and that was it…so clearly this isn’t getting great marketing in the UK. That or everyone was still nursing a New Year’s hangover, who knows.

Anyway – I think I kind of loved this movie. Yes, it’s too period-y for my liking but absolutely everything else about the movie is stunning. The script is witty as hell, the cinematography is stunning, and the performances all round were top notch. Everyone was giving their A-Game.

I think it’s one of those movies you need to see twice, especially if you have mixed feelings on a first watch. I came home feeling quite confused but I haven’t been able to get it out of my head since, and I fall in love a little more every day.

the-favourite-2018-queen-anne-olivia-colman

Best Bit: Despite my undying love for Emma Stone, Nicholas Hoult was the star in my eyes. He was hilarious any time he was on the screen, and it was in the scene that he threw a strop and dropped the C-word that I realised what kind of ride I signed myself up to. Dude rocks make-up better than me, though…

Worst Bit: I’m sure this was something I picked up on in Lanthimos’ other movies but the music was really off-putting at some points. It could have been the cinema’s fault but there was one scene where I could barely hear what anyone was saying because it was so loud. One of those artistic things that flew right over my head most likely.

Fun Trivia: Rachel Weisz’s character, Sarah Churchill, the Duchess of Marlborough, is the direct ancestor of both Sir Winston Churchill and Princess Diana (born Diana Spencer). The former was actually born in the Spencer-Churchill family’s Blenheim Palace, which is mentioned as being still unfinished in the film, and was named after Sarah Churchill’s father-in-law, the first Sir Winston Churchill. Before becoming prime minister, he wrote a biography of Sarah Churchill’s husband, the first Duke of Marlborough (Mark Gatiss).
That wasn’t really very fun trivia at all now, was it? It’s all like this if you look it up. Did I mention I hate History?

My Rating: 4 out of 5 exquisite cups of the finest tea, which you should never, ever, accept from Emma Stone.

the-favourite-2018-poisoned-cup-of-tea

17 thoughts on “The Favourite (2018)

  1. Oh yes, the music. And I know that one scene! Distracted the hell out of me too. And I agree on Hoult. It also helped that he looked ridiculously funny. Olivia Coleman though as Queen Anne was just amazing.

    I also couldn’t get this out of my head: “Let’s shoot something” 🙂

    Like

  2. Nicholas Holt was really rocking that complete look. I had to laugh when he shoved her down the hill 🙂 Great review though. I think the performances especially have stayed with me.

    Like

  3. Nice review! I was quite confused by the end of the movie with how I felt about everything, but I ended up loving it after talking it over with my sister a lot. Nicholas was wonderful and has been really overlooked in the supporting category for actors. Emma, Rachel, and Olivia were marvelous too. It’s definitely my favorite of Yorgo’s so far.

    Like

    1. I have to say I do love movies like this for the fact that they get you talking. I felt the same way about Nocturnal Animals, me and husband chatted it out on the way home and by the time we got there I’d decided I really enjoyed it.

      Like

  4. Well, so what parts of the script struck you as being so witty? Do you feel that the history benefited you in some way? Yeah, people were trying to get on with their lives in their ways; they needed entertainment so they raced ducks and threw oranges, Queen Anne had a lot of medical issues and issues associated with those medical issues, Abigail wanted to do well rather than getting thrown out to end up on the streets, … … … …

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.