Movie Reviews

Aquaman (2018)

aquaman-movie-poster-review-2018Director: James Wan

Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy

Runtime: 143 Minutes

Main Cast: Jason Momoa, Amber Heard, Willem Dafoe, Patrick Wilson, Nicole Kidman, Dolph Lundgren, Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, Temuera Morrison, Ludi Lin

Plot: Arthur Curry, AKA Aquaman, discovers that his half-brother King Orm is assembling an army to wage war against the people of the land.

My Thoughts: So without a winter Star Wars release, our family Christmas movie gettogether had to improvise and find a different movie to watch. I highly doubted my chances of convincing the boys to see Mary Poppins so Aquaman seemed like a logical choice. I’d set my expectations at a reasonable height, but I was dead excited to see Jason Momoa play Arthur Curry – weren’t we all?!

I have to admit, I know very little about Aquaman from the DC comic books. It’s a running joke (especially in The Big Bang Theory) that he’s not the coolest superhero around so I’ve never really bothered. With that in mind, I think the movie did an excellent job of making Aquaman an absolute badass, but without changing who he really is. Bravo!

I find myself a bit short of words for my review though, mainly because what I really want to say is – it was a good movie. That kind of sums it up for me. It was a superhero origin story. We got introduced to our hero, he did some cool stuff, and he saved the world. That’s all there really is to it. I don’t mean it as a criticism because I enjoyed the whole movie, it’s just one of those things!

aquaman-2018-jason-momoa-amber-heard

Best Bit: **SPOILERS** Call me a helpless sap – but once we found out that Atlanna was still alive after all I knew the moment I was waiting for, and when I saw Tom waiting down at the end of that pier I couldn’t help but sob. Curse my weak, leaky eyes!

Worst Bit: It doesn’t matter how cool you make the costumes, how stern the actors look or how fantastic the CGI is – no one can storm off whilst swimming underwater and not look like a bit of a goof whilst doing it.

Also – my husband won’t shut up about how funny he found the moment that Aquaman lifted a fallen church wall off a guy who just stood right back up and walked away like nothing happened. He’s still laughing about it now and I’m not sure if he wants it mentioned as Best Bit or Worst Bit, to be honest.

Fun Trivia: Wan was initially unsure about putting Topo in the film, but was inspired to do so after watching Mad Max: Fury Road (2015), saying, “If that film could have a guy playing a flaming guitar, I’m going to have an octopus drummer in mine.”

My Rating: 3 and a half bottles of red wine, just a fraction of the amount that were wastefully destroyed in the making of this movie.

aquaman-movie-red-wine-bottles

16 thoughts on “Aquaman (2018)

  1. I saw it again yesterday and had to laugh at that church guy. You think the extras could have pulled him along or he could have limped a little bit considering his bottom half was crushed under a very large roof a superhero had to lift off him! Oh well. Glad you liked it! Happy New Year đŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I’m with you that there is nothing special about this movie but it is enjoyable. Momoa was fantastic as Arthur and I really enjoyed the CGI and action. Hopefully DC is learning that by not micromanaging the director and letting them make the movie they want to make, they can actually create good films. Great review, Allie.

    Like

  3. Great review. I had a ton of fun with it. It did t make my Top 20 but it ended up on the shortlist. I love how it embraces the absurdity of it all. I mean we get a drumming octopus and Dolph Lundgren as a King in the sea! Who can’t love that? đŸ˜‚

    Like

  4. Hi Allie! I haven’t got around to seeing this one, not really that enthused about it to be honest. “We got introduced to our hero, he did some cool stuff, and he saved the world. That’s all there really is to it.” Ahahaha well that’s what I gather from the trailer, so I guess my assumption is correct đŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.