The 5 Best Movies of 2017…So Far

It’s hard to believe we’re half way through the year already! I’ve done pretty abysmally at keeping up to date with current movies so far, but it would be rude not to do a Top 5 list of my favourites so far! I’m expecting Okja and Baby Driver to be great movies, but as I haven’t seen them yet, they can’t be in this list!

I’d just like to throw in a few honourable mentions first: Guardians of the Galaxy: Vol 2, Table 19, Hidden Figures & Hacksaw Ridge.

Just note, I always go by UK release dates for this list, otherwise those amazing Oscar movies would never make my lists as they’re always released in January!

best-movies-2017-beauty-and-the-beast

#5 Beauty and the Beast

Is the Beauty and the Beast remake better than the original? No, it’s not even on par with it, but I feel like one of the few that still absolutely loved it. Yes, Emma Watson was wrung through the auto-tune a few times, but would you rather have a singer play the role who can’t act to save their life? It was the casting that won me over, even for roles I was skeptical about, such as Luke Evans, who turned out to be the perfect Gaston. I honestly couldn’t have asked for much more!

best-movies-2017-wonder-woman

#4 Wonder Woman

If you told me in January that Wonder Woman was going to feature in any kind of Top list written by me, I would have laughed at you, but I think we were all a little surprised at just how good the latest offering from DC was. Let’s hope this is the turning point we’ve all been waiting for! Gal Gadot has stolen my heart you guys.

best-movies-2017-lion

#3 Lion

I might have only just stopped ugly-crying whenever I think about the ending to Lion. I knew from the trailers it was going to be something I would enjoy, but when half of the movie is dominated by a child actor you can’t help but be a little wary. Thankfully, little Sunny Pawar is an absolute superstar, and it’s impossible not to love him. It’s still hard to believe this is a true story, it’s simply incredible. Oh man, I just remembered why the movie is actually called Lion and now I’m crying all over again!

best-movies-2017-colossal

#2 Colossal

No, I will never stop talking about Colossal. It’s my hidden gem of 2017, and I don’t care if I sound like a broken record! Is it the greatest movie of all time? No. Is the story completely polished? No, but it’s a completely unique tale in a year full of sequels, and Anne Hathaway is a delight to watch in this crazy role. It might not be everyone’s cup of tea, but it seems to be unheard of outside of the blogging world, and I’d love for more people to give it a try.

best-movies-2017-la-la-land

#1 La La Land

It’s rare that I actually re-watch movies in recent years, mainly because my watch list is longer than my arm and I love the thrill of finding new, great things to watch, but I’ve seen La La Land 3 times now, and I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve listened to the soundtrack. It’s a good job that Spotify doesn’t keep those records actually. (Please don’t tell me it does). I’m a sucker for anything starring Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling together because of their chemistry, and I seem to be loving musicals lately too, so this was a sure winner!

I’ll be back in the week with my Top 5 Worst Movies of 2017 so far list but for now, I’d love to know what movies have been your favourite so far! What have I missed, that I need to catch up on?

22 thoughts on “The 5 Best Movies of 2017…So Far

  1. Sadly, I’ve only seen Wonder Woman and La La Land so far. I like La La Land, but I definitely don’t love it. I do love Wonder Woman, however. Of what I have seen this year, I’m also a big fan of Get Out, Logan, I Don’t Feel At Home in This World Anymore, and believe it or not, Kong: Skull Island.

    Like

  2. Nice! Awesome to see Colossal here, it’s also in my Top 5 of the year so far. And it’s always great to see La La Land appear up high in a list like this. Good stuff, Allie. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Okay I really need to see Colossal! I know what you mean about releases dates, I’m from Portugal, sometimes movies take a loooong time to premiere here.That’s why I only do my “Best of the Year” lists in February (they do usually releases all the movies before the oscars!).

    I rarely re-watch movies too for the same reasons, but mentioning La La Land makes me want to see it again so bad! And I hope Spotify doesn’t keep those records too, it’s embarrassing how often I listen to same songs 😜

    Like

    • I’m glad the UK isn’t the only country that has to wait so long! I think Australia gets it even worse sometimes 😦
      I’d love to read your thoughts on Colossal if you end up seeing it!

      Like

  4. Great list! Beauty and the Beast is one of my favorites too. It isn’t on par with the original, but when I have the 1991 version on, I immediately want to put on the new one. That’s good enough for me. Wonder Woman and Colossal were great movies too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

