Review: The Guest (2014)

the-guest-movie-review-2014It’s happening again, you guys. I can feel a new obsession coming on, and this time it’s in the form of Dan Stevens. I spotted The Guest on a monthly recap list another blogger wrote recently (I can’t remember who – sorry!) and it sounded like my cup of tea. The fact that Dan Stevens played the lead was intriguing, I’d so far seen him as a big furry beast and a messed up X-Men Mutant, so I was interested to see him in another role. I’ve got to say though, how does he managed to look so much like Bradley Cooper in this poster? It’s weird!

Anyway, the plot is simple enough. Dan Stevens plays David, a soldier who introduces himself to the Peterson family, claiming to be a friend of their Son who died in action. However, this isn’t a airy fairy drama where David reconnects a broken family or anything like that. Instead, a whole pile a seemingly accidental deaths take place, and things start to turn a bit weird.

I don’t even know how to describe the tone of this movie, it might be different for everyone. For me it was a cross between Drive and Crazy, Stupid, Love! It had those moody, dark scenes, a stand out soundtrack, but also some outrageously funny mentoring scenes and sex appeal. I’m not kidding about that last part! I had to send my friend Steph (she understands me) a screenshot of Dan Stevens stood seductively, knowing full well what he looked like, wet after a shower and naked except for a towel that was dangerously low. *cough* Is anyone else warm?

the-guest-2014-dan-stevens

If I tried to be a real blogger rather than a fangirl, I’d tell you that the pacing is completely off in parts, and that the final third is somewhat confusing and a bit of a cop out. It also feels quite long considering the reasonable runtime. I read though that around 20 minutes of footage got cut before the release, which explains the confusion at least. Nonetheless, it’s a movie well worth watching as it’s something a little bit different! Plus Dan Stevens. Did I mention how blue his eyes are?

So where do I go next? I really, REALLY don’t want to watch Downton Abbey (it’s not my cup of tea) and so before I start the downward spiral of working my way through his entire filmography, can any of your recommend me some good Dan Stevens movies? I’m off to see Colossal tomorrow night which I think he’s in, although in a minor role.

the-guest-mirror-room-haunted-house

But anyway, I do recommend The Guest, but only if there’s nothing big at the top of your watchlist. It’s a bit of fun, and it’s something both guys and gals will enjoy.

the-guest-2014-rating-mix-cd

18 thoughts on “Review: The Guest (2014)

  1. A Dan Stevens obsession, yes, please! I completely mistook him for Bradley Cooper on the poster too. But this sounds like fun! I’m starting to work my way through his filmography too. *curse you Beast-not-a-Beast* His part was pretty small in Colossal but the movie left me with a lot of feels (good and bad) I’ve yet to blog about. Nice review! πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. Colossal is an excellent movie and he is great there. The Guest is actually in my top 100 favorite movies of all time – I love the style and how twisted it is. I do recommend Downton Abbey even if it’s not your cup of tea – it’s a fantastic show and Maggie Smith’s character is insanely entertaining.

    Ah, the fangirling. Aren’t you pregnant gals turning horny during pregnancy? Don’t worry, no matter what you won’t reach my levels. Jesus it’s like I’m perpetually knocked up here.

    Like

    • Dooooon’t turn me into a Downton Abbey fan! It’s literally the last thing I need. Maybe just one episode…
      Can confirm – am always horny. It’s just a shame I’m the exact opposite picture of sexy right now, sat on a bunch of pillows consuming cake like it’s oxygen…

      Like

  3. This was such a cool but sometimes strange movie. As for that shower scene (let’s call it that – you know what I mean πŸ˜‰ )…well, yes…uhmmm, uhmmm, what was I going to say…..? πŸ˜€
    Awesome soundtrack.
    And…super post!

    Like

  4. Oh gosh, we can ALL get on board with Dan Stevens. You should HEAR how Natasha and I can go on about him xD Plus that shower scene? Goodness gracious me.

    Okay, but totally taking Dan Stevens off the list here about The Guest, I would just like to say that I absolutely adore this movie and cannot tell you how many times I have watched it. It really is my cup of tea on so many levels, and just worked. So glad you watched it and enjoyed it.

    Like

  5. Such a stylish, demented genre film. I adored every minute of it. And about Dan Stevens, who could resist! πŸ˜‰ He hasn’t been in many movies, and I can’t bring myself to watch Downton either. But he was hilarious in one of them Night at the Museum movies!

    Like

  6. Aaaaah Dan Stevens! And that blogger is probably me! I made a mini review of this last month! And I thank you for bringing up Dan Stevens and his dangerously low hanging towel. My day is now complete. πŸ˜€

    He made this movie called Summer in February which is his passion project. I haven’t seen it but it looks pretty romantic. He still sports his “Matthew” physique in this film. He is also, surprisingly, in an Adams Sandler movie called The Cobbler. But I have long been Adam Sandlered out. So for the longest time I just can’t bring myself to go watch this movie. But for you, Dan Stevens, I just might! πŸ˜€

    Like

    • Ahhh I think it was you! Thank you! Ugh, do you think it would be wrong to make that towel picture my phone wallpaper?
      I’m going to keep my eyes peeled for Summer in February.
      Yeah, I’m not the biggest Adam Sandler fan…but it’s been a while since I saw him last so I might just be able to tolerate him once more!
      Thanks for the suggestions πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

