Move over La La Land, I have 3 Award Nominations!

blogger-award-banner-mystery-sunshine

Today is an exciting day, because I’ve been nominated for 2 different Blogger awards! This honestly means a lot to me, especially as Often Off Topic has only been running since December last year. A huge thanks to Drew at Drew’s Movie Reviews for nominating me for the Mystery Blogger Award, and to Keith at Keith Loves Movies and Ruth at FlixChatter for nominating me for the Sunshine Blogger Award! Plus, what great timing whilst we’re right in the heart of Awards Season!

mystery-blogger-award-banner

I’ll start with the Mystery Blogger Award. Thanks again Drew! Here are the rules:
– Put the award logo/image on your blog
– List the rules.
– Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
– Mention the creator of the award and provide a link as well
– Tell your readers 3 things about yourself
– You have to nominate 10 – 20 people
– Notify your nominees by commenting on their blog
– Ask your nominees any 5 questions of your choice; with one weird or funny question (specify)
– Share a link to your best post(s)

The questions that Drew asked were:
1- What is your favorite place you have visited? I’ve loved all of my very few visits to the USA, but my favourite place is New York. It’s where I got engaged, and I went back for my honeymoon. As someone extremely nervous in new surroundings, I love how easy the city is to navigate, and I could sit at Turtle Pond in Central Park all day.
2- What would you do if you had a time machine and didn’t have to worry about the ill effects of time travel? I’d find out how the latest Star Wars trilogy ends!
3- What was your favorite film released last year? Hunt for the Wilderpeople. It has everything a movie could ask for, humour, drama, action, everything!
4- Why did you start blogging? I find writing to be therapeutic, and I love watching and talking about movies, so one day it just clicked that I could combine the two.
5- If you could live in any fictional universe, which would you choose? Harry Potter for sure. I was a huge nerd in school and so writing huge essays for Professor Snape would be an absolute doddle.

Now, for three things about me. Honestly, I ramble about my personal life far too much on this blog anyway but here’s some fun facts:
1 – I’m a fussy eater. I don’t like my food touching other food on my plate. I hate tomatoes, but I love ketchup. I don’t like raisins unless they’re hidden in cake. I like cheesecake, but only if I don’t think about it, because reminding myself it’s made of cheese puts me off.
2- I’m always cold. It doesn’t matter where I am, or what temperature it is, I’ll eventually get cold. On the last day of our honeymoon in California in June, I walked around Disneyland in a jumper.
3 – I have 8 tattoos! A meeple (look it up) on my finger, ‘all was well’ from Harry Potter on my wrist, Lilo & Stitch on my thigh, the hand-mirror from Beauty & the Beast also on my thigh, an origami X-Wing on my calf, a collection of honeymoon memories on my arm, and my two cats Sherlock and Loki on each of my feet. Sherlock has a deerstalker hat and a pipe, and Loki is wearing the iconic helmet.

For my nominees, I’ve picked bloggers that are reasonably new to me, and say may be new to you too. Check them out if you aren’t following them already:
Moviejoltz
Literary Weapon
CineMuseFilms
Surrender to the Void
Vinnieh

My questions to you are:
1 – How long did it take you to come up with your blog’s name?
2 – What was the last movie you gave up on and didn’t finish?
3 – What’s your favourite Disney song?
4 – Who’s your biggest movie crush right now?
5 – Do you have any tattoos? If not, what would you get?

Don’t feel obliged to put a post together, if you want you could always leave your answers as a comment!

sunshine-blogger-award-banner

Moving on to the Sunshine Blogger Award. Thanks again Keith and Ruth! Here are the rules:
Post the award on your blog
– Thank the person who nominated you
– Answer the 11 questions they set you
– Pick another 11 bloggers (and let them know they are nominated!)
– Give them 11 questions

Simple enough! Here are the questions Keith asked:
1 – What do you like to do in your spare time? Aside from watching movies and blogging, I’m a gamer too! I play far too much World of Warcraft.
2 – What would like to do if you had more time? I’d like to take up a craft. I’m not sure what, but I’d like to be able to make…things.
3 – If you can only watch one movie or TV show the rest of your life, what would it be and why? Parks and Recreation, without a doubt. It’s my go-to DVD when nothing else is on, and it’s the only thing I could honestly never get bored of.
4 – What is your favorite TV show right now? Brooklyn Nine-Nine, although it’s currently on a break. It’s one of those rare gems of a show that actually gets better each season.
5 – What was your favorite movie of 2016? Hunt for the Wilderpeople. It has everything a movie could ask for, humour, drama, action, everything!
6 – What was your least favorite movie of 2016? Get a Job. It was just pants. It was boring, it wasn’t funny, it was a mess.
7 – What is your most anticipated movie of 2017? Star Wars Episode VIII: The Last Jedi. I need to know what happens next!
8 – What is your least anticipated movie of 2017? Wonder Woman. Maybe it’ll be the movie to save the DC Cinematic Universe, maybe it’ll be another ‘meh’ movie. Who knows!
9 – Any movie or TV guilty pleasures? I love rom coms, whether they’re actually good or terrible.
10 – What is your Best Picture winner at this year’s Oscars? La La Land! Lion and Hacksaw Ridge are very close runner ups though.
11 – Do you still watch trailers? I do! I deliberately get to the cinema early enough just to see them.

And here are the questions from Ruth:
1 – What’s your favorite movie quote that nobody else seems to notice? When a conversation around us turns tense, my brother and I often quote Liar, Liar. “Mrs. Cole…a goose!” We make hand gestures too, I don’t know why, but we’ve done it for years!
2 – If someone give you a $1 million dollar budget to do a film, what type of film or genre would you do? I’d love to make a thrilling mystery movie with a cracking twist, but I don’t have the brains for it. I bet I’d make a wonderfully cheesy romcom though!
3 – In relation to question 2. Which non A-lister would you cast? Argh, what qualifies someone as an A-lister? If he’s eligible, Adam Driver! I can totally cast myself in the other leading role, right?
4 – Weekend getaway: Paris, London or Rome? London is too close to home, I’m visiting Paris in May but I’ve never been to Rome, so that’s my pick.
5 – I was going to do a post on this but have no time to finish it. What’s the worst movie you saw in 2016? Get a Job. It had some potential, but it was just a mess. If a movie has been sat on a shelf for 4 years, there’s probably a good reason for it.
6- What’s one particular movie scene you recently saw that still sticks with you? In Hacksaw Ridge, when Doss is still up on the ridge repeating to himself ‘just one more’. I think that’ll stay with me a long time.
7 – Favorite cuisine? I am a simple lady with simple tastes. Just give me a good pizza!
8 – Chris Evans, Chris Pine or Chris Hemsworth? WHY WOULD YOU MAKE ME CHOOSE? Ugh. I love them all. Hemsworth!
9 – Name an actor/actress you’ve seen in more than 10 movies? Emma Stone and Ryan Reynolds. A couple of years ago I tracked down their entire filmography. I regret nothing!
10 – See above. Name the movies. Quite literally everything they’ve been in up until 2015! #noragerts
11 – Name a film you wish had a sequel. This one is going to require more thinking. Perhaps I’ll make a post on it soon!

Here are my nominees. I’m sorry if you’ve been picked already!
Drew’s Movie Reviews
Two Dollar Cinema
The Punk Theory
Cinematic Corner
Rambling Film
Dell on Movies
Life of This City Girl
Mettel Ray
Cinema Parrot Disco
A Film a Day
Dan the Man’s Movie Reviews

Here are my questions to you:
1 – If you could add an Award category to the Oscars, what would you add?
2 – Who is The Last Jedi?
3 – Which Director should take over from Ben Affleck for The Batman?
4 – I need a break from Oscar movies. What should I watch this weekend?
5 – What’s your all time favourite book?
6 – If you were a talk show host, who would be your first guest?
7 – What’s your least favourite movie genre?
8 – What movie are you embarrassed to admit you’ve never seen?
9 – Is Wonder Woman going to save the DC Cinematic Universe?
10 – Which actor/actress do you love enough to see them in anything and everything?
11 – Which movie would you like to experience for the first time again?

Again, please don’t feel obliged to put a post together. If you like you could answer the questions in a comment!

27 thoughts on “Move over La La Land, I have 3 Award Nominations!

  1. Loving the new blog, Allie! Just know that I’m laughing hysterically about your eating habits. The cheesecake sentence might be the funniest thing I’ve ever heard. 8 tats? Nice. I’ve got some catching up to do with 4, myself. I’ll heed the warnings about Get a Job. Thanks so much for the award. I’ll put something together this week.

    Like

  2. Thanks for mentioning me! 🙂

    1 – If you could add an Award category to the Oscars, what would you add?
    – they already have too many as it is, I never understood sound editing and mixing differences

    2 – Who is The Last Jedi?
    – my guess is Luke, last seen brooding on an island

    3 – Which Director should take over from Ben Affleck for The Batman?
    – no one good because DCEU doesn’t deserve that

    4 – I need a break from Oscar movies. What should I watch this weekend?
    – The Rock 😀

    5 – What’s your all time favourite book?
    – American Psycho, probably

    6 – If you were a talk show host, who would be your first guest?
    -eh, that’s too easy 😛

    7 – What’s your least favourite movie genre?
    – musical. Just no.

    8 – What movie are you embarrassed to admit you’ve never seen?
    – Citizen Kane?

    9 – Is Wonder Woman going to save the DC Cinematic Universe?
    – no, it will all suck except maybe Aquaman

    10 – Which actor/actress do you love enough to see them in anything and everything?
    – well I put it this way, I’ve seen 30 movies with Ed Harris in the last 3 months or so and I have about 26 to go. I actually sat through 3h long one last night just because he played sheriff in that.

    11 – Which movie would you like to experience for the first time again?
    Fury Road

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Thanks for the rewards nomination! Here are my answers below 😀

    1 – If you could add an Award category to the Oscars, what would you add?
    Probably an award for a film that got way more hate than it deserved #passengers

    2 – Who is The Last Jedi?
    Jedi is both plural and singular. That is my answer and I’m sticking to it 😀

    3 – Which Director should take over from Ben Affleck for The Batman?
    That movie should be scrapped. Okay, maybe someone like JJ Abrams? He’s quite talented and can insert originality into a film despite it being reused material.

    4 – I need a break from Oscar movies. What should I watch this weekend?
    The DUFF / Pride and Prejudice vs. Zombies. Two of my favorite films that I saw recently!

    5 – What’s your all time favourite book?
    Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

    6 – If you were a talk show host, who would be your first guest?
    Meryl Streep #notOverrated

    7 – What’s your least favourite movie genre?
    Torture films like Saw. Not touching that with a ten foot pole as it serves no purpose in this world.

    8 – What movie are you embarrassed to admit you’ve never seen?
    Gladiator

    9 – Is Wonder Woman going to save the DC Cinematic Universe?
    I’m very excited about Wonder Woman. Let’s keep our fingers crossed!

    10 – Which actor/actress do you love enough to see them in anything and everything?
    Emma Stone. She’s endlessly entertaining and so talented.

    11 – Which movie would you like to experience for the first time again?
    Sicario. I only saw it recently but I loved it so much I just want to experience it again for the first time.

    PS: I am SO glad you chose Hemsworth. All The Chrises are excellent, but he wins handsdown 😀

    Like

    • I feel like after Ghostbusters, Hemsworth would just be so much fun to hang out with, right?!
      I’m glad I’m not the only person who has never seen Gladiator…
      Yaaaaas I’m so with you on the plural Jedi thing! Only because I can’t handle Rey being killed off 😦
      Thanks for answering my questions! 🙂

      Like

  4. Here’s my answers to your questions.
    1 – How long did it take you to come up with your blog’s name? I thought for quite a while before sticking with the one I have.
    2 – What was the last movie you gave up on and didn’t finish? I don’t remember what the name of it was, but it was one of those based on a Nicholas Sparks movies.
    3 – What’s your favourite Disney song? Circle of Life.
    4 – Who’s your biggest movie crush right now? Amy Adams
    5 – Do you have any tattoos? If not, what would you get? I would get a dragon across my back.

    Like

  5. Hogwarts would be fun to visit. I guess you kind of can do that at the warner bros. Harry Potter tour in London, although I can see it’s expensive (£39 for an adult)

    I really need to watch Hunt for the Wilderpeople, I’ve heard so many give it praise. Thanks for the reminder!
    Star Wars Episode VIII I’m looking forward to as well, I should do a post of my most anticipated.

    Like

    • The tour in London is pretty cool, but expensive! I got to see the Harry Potter experience at Universal in California last year too which was pretty awesome, but strange in the heat!
      I’d love to read a post with your most anticipated movies 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Congrats on the awards! And thank you for the nomination. Here’s my answers (I’m answering here because I doubt I’ll ever write the post)

    1 – If you could add an Award category to the Oscars, what would you add?
    Best voice performance

    2 – Who is The Last Jedi?
    Luke

    3 – Which Director should take over from Ben Affleck for The Batman?
    Frankly I don’t care, the movie is going to suck anyway.

    4 – I need a break from Oscar movies. What should I watch this weekend?
    Guardians of the Galaxy

    5 – What’s your all time favourite book?
    Thomas Mann’s Death in Venice

    6 – If you were a talk show host, who would be your first guest?
    Emma Stone

    7 – What’s your least favourite movie genre?
    Western

    8 – What movie are you embarrassed to admit you’ve never seen?
    Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner

    9 – Is Wonder Woman going to save the DC Cinematic Universe?
    I hope so. I’m afraid it’s going to suck though.

    10 – Which actor/actress do you love enough to see them in anything and everything?
    Michael Fassbender

    11 – Which movie would you like to experience for the first time again?
    The Usual Suspects

    Like

  7. Thanks again for this! Sorry I’m so late seeing your message. I’ll answer your questions now… : )

    1 – If you could add an Award category to the Oscars, what would you add? – Good question! But can I take one away instead? The ceremony is already too long… ; )
    2 – Who is The Last Jedi? – Who is or who ARE? ; )
    3 – Which Director should take over from Ben Affleck for The Batman? – Hmm. Denis, how do you spell his name… Arrival director!
    4 – I need a break from Oscar movies. What should I watch this weekend? – Ohh. Good question but hard! A Studio Ghibli film!
    5 – What’s your all time favourite book? – The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy
    6 – If you were a talk show host, who would be your first guest? – Well, it would’ve been David Bowie. : ( I’ll go with Dave Grohl.
    7 – What’s your least favourite movie genre? – Well, maybe Westerns? But I love the Leone ones I’ve seen… I don’t like the “crime” genre often.
    8 – What movie are you embarrassed to admit you’ve never seen? – Not sure… Probably would’ve been Rocky but I just finally watched that!
    9 – Is Wonder Woman going to save the DC Cinematic Universe? – No. Bad buzz so far.
    10 – Which actor/actress do you love enough to see them in anything and everything? – Amy Adams at the moment. And Drew Barrymore!
    11 – Which movie would you like to experience for the first time again? – Aliens

    Like

    • I’m so with you on Denis Villenueve (I may have spelt that terribly), he would be GREAT!
      And yeah, the Oscars really are long…perhaps we should take out some of those technical awards (who needs 2 sound award anyway) and replace them ;D
      Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Sunshine Blogger Award | The Punk Theory

  9. Pingback: Catching Up On Some Awards | Drew's Movie Reviews

Leave a Reply

