Review: La La Land (2017)

la-la-land-review-2017-posterWhen the trailer first came out for La La Land, I felt torn. Yes, the movie was reuniting Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling, the most amazing on-screen couple EVER. But it was a musical. I don’t like musicals. That’s what I told people, I don’t ‘do’ musicals. Well, apart from every Disney movie ever made, The Muppets movie, my undying guilty love for High School Musical, and the musical Broadway show I saw on honeymoon. Hm. Turns out I’m a musical fan after all.

Once I’d come to terms with this, I was hyping so much it literally hurt. With every review that cropped up in my feed, I felt a twinge of jealousy that one more person had seen it, whilst I was still waiting. Yet when my time came, I was terrified. When you’ve been looking forward to something for so long, and literally everyone has said how amazing it is (apart from someone on my Facebook feed who shall remain anonymous) you just get this feeling, what if I don’t enjoy it?

I shouldn’t have worried. I know that now. Mercifully, my worry vanished in the opening scene, when a highway full of stand still traffic burst into song about how how much of a beautiful and sunny day it is. People were dancing on top of their cars, a band was playing from the inside of a lorry, and everything was just so colourful. I was grinning from ear to ear, and then Ryan Gosling blared that car horn and I fell in love. To me, Ryan Gosling blaring a car horn is the equivalent to that boombox scene in Say Anything!

la-la-land-city-of-stars-ryan-gosling

Love is the theme here in La La Land. Love for your hometown, for your family and friends, for your dreams. Mia (Emma Stone) is an actress working at a coffee shop at the Warner Bros Studio, attending audition after audition to try and catch her big break. Sebastian (Ryan Gosling) is a struggling musician playing piano at a jazz bar ran by a guy named Bill (J.K. Simmons) who has no appreciation for the music genre. Knowing that La La Land is directed by Damien Chazelle who also directed Whiplash, I wanted so badly for Bill to tell Seb that the music ‘wasn’t his tempo’, but complaining about it general kept me happy enough!

Watching Mia and Seb go from hating each other to loving each other was just so much fun to watch. The scene at the pool party was a favourite of mine, my husband and I were laughing so much I that I think we got a few funny looks for finding it a little too funny. Their musical number whilst walking to find Mia’s car was utter perfection, with the sarcastic comebacks going back and forth. It’s one of those songs you find yourself tapping your feet to without even noticing.

LLL d 12 _2353.NEF

Ugh, I could honestly gush about this movie for hours if I was given the chance. Just give it all the awards, please. The cinematography was stunning, the costumes were a delight (I would kill for Mia’s wardrobe, and my husband wants some of those shoes Seb wore!) and the ending was so bittersweet. I wasn’t even sure why I was crying in the end, I didn’t know whether I was happy or sad.

It was nights like that night that I was so grateful for Spotify, because I stuck the soundtrack on as soon as we got into the car. It was just a shame home was only 10 minutes away! A full 5/5 chicken on sticks from me.

la-la-land-review-chicken-stick

25 thoughts on “Review: La La Land (2017)

  1. Lovely review! I thought it had some pacing problems, but those are little. It’s so much fun to watch and Seb would be happy to see five chicken on sticks. ;D

    Like

  2. I’m not a fan of musicals (Disney and High School Musical don’t count because I grew up with them) but I’ve been wanting to see La La Land since I first heard of it because of the director and cast. I haven’t seen it yet – this Thursday is the day – but I’m sure I’ll love it. I’ve already bought the soundtrack and played it on repeat for days. I meant weeks.

    Like

  3. I loved this movie so much. There hasn’t been a day since I’ve seen it where I don’t think about the endless optimism Sebastian exudes at all times. I’ve been with my wife for a long time, and I miss that feeling where you honestly believe you partner can do anything! Ahhh…..now we’re just old and grumpy.

    And I bought the soundtrack that evening (what a dork)

    Lovely review!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Going off Topic (#1) Thank You, Oscars Thoughts & Looking Forward | Often Off Topic

  5. I loved the film as much as you did, and I agree wholeheartedly! I think my favourite part was ‘A Lovely Night’ dance because the chemistry is just so evident in their playful flirting, and the dance itself was excellent! Filmed in one shot, apparently, which a lot of the scenes in the movie were 🙂 The soundtrack in general is delightful and I can’t get it out of my head, in a really good way! ❤

    Like

    • A Lovely Night has rapidly become my favourite part, too! They have so much chemistry together, I love it. I didn’t realise it was filmed in one shot! That’s impressive, I’ll keep my eyes peeled when I watch it again (which will be asap!) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know, it’s just perfect! And the part where he walks all the way back to his car, that’s when you know he has softened! If only it weren’t for Greg and that phone call! 🙂 I hope you enjoy your rewatch, I’m considering doing just that soon too!

        Like

Leave a Reply

