Book Review: It Ends With Us, Colleen Hoover

I don’t mean to brag, but it’s the middle of January and I’ve just finished reading my second book. If I read one more, I’ll have read the same number of books than I read in the entirety of 2016. Okay, that’s not that impressive I know, and my movie watching is suffering because of it, but I’m just so glad to be a bookworm again!

For my second read, I picked something from my list like nothing I’ve read before, a romance! For a while I asked myself if Fifty Shades counted as a romance, and then because I’m totally now a hoity-toity book person I scoffed at myself and told myself no, they absolutely do not count, now sit yourself down and read a real romance novel.

colleen-hoover-it-ends-with-us-book-review

So, what is It Ends With Us all about? Let me tell you as little as possible, because you’ll thank me if you end up reading it for yourself. Our main character Lily lives in Boston, with dreams of setting up her own business. She’s determined, and strong, and she makes that dream a reality. She meets a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle one night, and they hit it right off, but said their goodbyes when they realised they want very different things when it comes to relationships.

However, fate brings them together again as it always does in this genre (movie wise at least, I’m new to this) and it’s such a delight when they get together. Everything is going swimmingly until one night when Lily happens across someone from her past. Speaking of which, Lily had a very troubled life as a child, which as readers we get to learn all about, through Lily’s old journals.

giphy-3

These moments were some of my favourites, as young Lily wrote her journals in the form of letters to Ellen DeGeneres. I love this, and it sounds like the kind of thing I would have done, only I’m not sure who I would have addressed my entries to. Probably Sabrina the Teenage Witch, or Kenan and Kel! Anyway, it’s through these journals that we learn about Lily’s first love, Atlas.

However, just as I was really getting into the sickly sweet romantic parts, daydreaming about Dr Ryle Kincaid wearing scrubs and that stethoscope (sorry dear Husband of mine, if you’re reading) I had the metaphorical rug pulled out from under my feet. Believe me when I say that this book gets dark. I was barely getting over the shock of it all when my heart was broken into a million pieces.

giphy-4

I don’t want to say any more than that because it would be a disservice to the book and it’s fantastically talented author Colleen Hoover, but I haven’t felt this way about a book since a certain death in a Harry Potter book, when I wanted to do a Joey from Friends and put it in the freezer to keep me safe. Technology be damned, my kindle wouldn’t thank me for putting it in the freezer for a few hours so it had to go in a cupboard instead.

Well worth a read! If you’ve read it already leave me a comment, I need to talk to someone!

6 thoughts on “Book Review: It Ends With Us, Colleen Hoover

  1. I’ve only finished one book so far this year lol. At least it was a good one. I’m not crazy about romance novels but now I’m going to have to read up on this one a bit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

