Thursday Movie Picks: The Underdog

thursday-movie-picks

EDIT: It looks like I have an out of date TMP schedule! Thankfully I’m at least not the only one. So…enjoy? 

It’s totally acceptable to start New Year’s Resolutions 3 weeks late, right? Taking part in Wandering Through the Shelves‘ Thursday Movie Picks was one of mine, only I really had nothing to contribute to the first two week’s themes, so here I am, fashionably late! If you’d like to take part too, check out Wanderer’s schedule here.

This week’s theme is The Underdog, a theme I can fully get involved in. I love rooting for the underdog, against all odds, and even though in movies it’s sometimes clear they’ll win in the end, I can’t help but feel all giddy and excited for them anyway. Let’s kick this off, shall we?

movie-picks-underdog-walter-the-muppets

Walter, The Muppets (2011)

The Muppets will remain one of my all time favourites movies forever, so I don’t really need an excuse to talk about it, but I feel like the newcomer Walter was an underdog in more than 1 way. He joined the famous Muppet gang with stars in his eyes, and when it came to putting on a show he hid in fear, because he didn’t think he had a talent as strong as the others. Perhaps more importantly though, he was a new character in a group of Muppets who have been around for years, and there was a strong likelihood that audiences might not like him. I for one, loved him!

movie-picks-underdog-rey-star-wars

Rey, Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015)

I feel like Star Wars is all about underdogs, but if I had to choose just one it would be Rey. We don’t know how she started in life yet but in the Force Awakens she started out as a lone, scrawny scavenger, trading enough scrap to barely keep herself alive. Who would have thought she would be able to use Jedi mind tricks on Stormtroopers just like Obi-Wan, and hold her own in a fight against Darth Vader’s very own grandson, Kylo Ren? This girl kicks ass.

movie-picks-underdog-judy-hopps-zootopia

Judy Hopps, Zootopia (2016)

In a world full of prejudice, bunny rabbit Judy Hopps was laughed at when she said she wanted to become a police officer. When you’re so small that even going to the toilet is a difficult task, how was Judy ever going to become anything more than a meter maid? With a little help from a wily fox named Nick, Judy became Zootopia’s greatest detective, and put out a message that you can be whatever you want to be!

11 thoughts on “Thursday Movie Picks: The Underdog

  1. If I hadn’t checked the schedule I also would have gone with the underdogs. I haven’t seen The Muppets, but Rey and Judy are amazing picks!

    Like

  2. Not even sure when that update happened since I can’t even recall the underdog topic but these are nice picks. Ray is definitely a great pick! Haven’t seen Zootopia yet though.. ups.

    Like

  3. My God these are perfect choices. The only thing I didn’t love about Walter was his damn talent. I was leaning forward with so much anticipation…only to sit back and sigh. C’mon, Walter! Do the tough-guy voice from earlier! That would have killed!

    Judy Hopps is so sweet. I wasn’t the hugest fan of Zootopia, but her optimism was infectious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

