Thoughts on Sherlock: The Final Problem

It should be a crime to make a TV series with only 3 episodes per season, let alone having such a painfully long wait in between seasons! Can you believe Sherlock started in 2010? That was 7 years ago, 7! After a 3 year break (not counting the Christmas special in 2016) Season 4 came to our screens on 1st January, and just 15 days later, it’s all over again. What I can’t stop asking though is, is Sherlock over for good?

sherlock-the-final-problem-finale

Spoilers from here on out, you’ve been warned!

The Sherlock Squad (consisting of myself, my husband, my parents and littlest brother) went last night to our local Showcase cinema to watch The Final Problem. We’ve been so excited for it, we had our tickets booked before Christmas! There’s just something extra special about seeing something like this on the big screen, although we were slightly concerned about how we’d make it without our usual pause breaks for the loo, or biscuits. Cinema goers had an extra 15 minutes of footage, too!

So, whilst trying to prepare myself for what was being set up for a dark episode, I had 2 main questions. What’s the deal with the Holmes sister, Eurus, and just how did Sherlock not recognise her? Is Moriarty back after all, despite how impossible it seems? Thankfully both were answered, and not in the way I expected.

sherlock-eurus-sherrinford-final-problem

I have to say, watching the episode at the cinema was such an amazing experience. The screen felt like a gigantic family gathering, with whisperings before it started of what everyone thought would happen, frantically checking the time to see how long we had to go. We were giddy! Our bonus footage was a small documentary with Amanda Abbington discussing her role as Mary and how it all began. It wasn’t as exciting as I’d hoped for, but it was wonderful looking back at clips from the earlier seasons and seeing how things had changed.

And then BOOM. We’re at Mycroft’s place. There’s a creepy faceless doll running around. The portraits on the wall are bleeding. There’s a clown trying to kill him. WHAT. THE. HELL. GUYS. I can’t watch this stuff at home, let alone in the dark. Will not forgive you for that one, Sherlock Holmes.

sherlock-molly-i-love-you-final-problem

Over at Sherrinford, which we now know is the BBC’s Arkham Asylum, we finally get to learn about Eurus, and why Sherlock doesn’t recognise her. Or even remember her existence, in fact. That game she plays with Sherlock, John and Mycroft is one of the most intense things I’ve ever watched. I was frozen in place, shaking, and trying to hide in my jumper all at the same time. Fellow Sherlock and Molly shippers, rejoice? I mean, we’ve been waiting for ‘I love you’ for so long, but did any of us want it to happen that way?!

Onto Moriarty. I should have seen it coming. When Mycroft mentioned he took Euros a Christmas present, I knew straight away he meant Moriarty. So why, why when Queen started playing, did I join the room in a chorus of ‘YES’ when he stepped out that helicopter, just to see the ‘5 years ago’ on the screen and have all my dreams shattered. Major sadface, reporting for duty.

sherlock-moriarty-queen-want-to-break-free

My heart can’t bear to talk about Redbeard, I didn’t see that twist coming at all. I just. Cannot even. Sherlock cried. I cried. We all cried. Moving swiftly on…

Have we ever had a Sherlock season end what wasn’t a cliffhanger? I really do feel like this is the end, and if it is then it’s a good ending. Maybe we’ll get a Season 5, maybe just a Christmas Special in a couple of years. No, I can’t do it any more. I miss the Baker Street boys already! I need an entire season dedicated to Sherlock and John trying to look after Rosie. I don’t want this to be the end!

4 thoughts on “Thoughts on Sherlock: The Final Problem

  1. I’d be pissed if my extra footage was MORE Amanda Abbington lol. I think she’s the worst. I’m glad you had fun seeing this in the theaters.

    I’m torn on how I feel about it. I really liked the story of Euros but it felt like I was watching an episode of The X Files instead. And as for Sherlolly, I’m ride or die Sherlolly but I hate that they brushed over all the follow up for that scene. I felt like Sherlock actually meant that 2nd “I love you” but why couldn’t they give us a scene of them together afterwards instead of yet another pointless Mary video? Plus, Moffat’s stupid comment of “Molly probably had a drink and shagged someone” was completely misguided and annoying.

    Like

    • I thought of you during that documentary bit, haha! ‘If Brit was here now…!’
      We did deserve a follow up scene for sure on that for sure – it was once I’d calmed down that I realised we never got proper closure, and that makes me sad 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

