My 2017 Blogging Resolutions

Happy New Years Eve everyone! I may be a little early for a resolutions post, but this time tomorrow I’ll be enjoying a roast dinner with my family and preparing for the debut of Sherlock Season 4, so I may as well start now! For many years I’ve made resolutions to be more healthy, exercise more, ‘new year, new me’ and so on, but let’s face it, by March I’ll have given up my gym membership and really, I should just eat better anyway!

That’s why this year I’m setting myself 3 fun, blogging related resolutions. Hey, you’re more likely to stick with them if they’re fun, right? So, here goes nothing…

2017-blogging-resolutions

#1 Watch 150 movies, and at least 12 ‘classics’

According to my Letterboxd diary, I’ve watched 150 movies this year so far, so this should be fairly easy to do again. What won’t be as easy is watching some ‘classics’. I don’t have a proper definition of that yet, but at the moment I feel like classing it as anything I haven’t seen yet which is on either IMDB’s Top 250 or any other similar list. In the past I’ve tried to complete the Blindspot challenge, but I’ve chosen movies I don’t really have much interest in, so I’ve fallen off the wagon.

#2 Read 12 books

Okay, okay, you can stop laughing now! In my defence, I read a grand total of 3 books in 2016, so this is quite the challenge for me. I’ve always loved reading, but I’ve never really strayed from the Fantasy genre, and so I’d like to expand my interests a little. To do that, earlier this month I researched some of the most popular books from the past year over a wide variety of genres, and picked 12 of them.

My primary aim is to read one each month, but in an ideal world I’d transform back into the bookworm my teenage self was, and complete the list much sooner. Of course if I do, I can simply expand my list! For reference, these are the books I’ve chosen:

The Woman in Cabin 10, Ruth Ware
Mr. Mercedes, Stephen King
You’re Never Weird on the Internet, Felicia Day
Truly Madly Guilty, Liane Moriarty
Lily and the Octopus, Steven Rowley
All the Birds in the Sky, Charlie Jane Anders
It Ends With Us, Colleen Hoover
Dark Matter, Blake Crouch
Bloodline, Claudia Gray
The Fireman, Joe Hill
Scrappy Little Nobody, Anna Kendrick
Behind Closed Doors, B. A. Paris

gaston-hates-reading-books

#3 Complete a Video Game

I realise I my have lost you by this point, but let me explain! I play a lot of video games, less than I used to, but it’s very rare that I actually complete one. It feels like when I can feel the end drawing near, I stop playing the game all together. Perhaps it’s why I love the MMORPG World of Warcraft so much, it’s literally impossible to complete! So, I don’t know which game it will be, but I’m going to make it to the end credits, and actually finish something for a change.

I am honestly so excited to complete these challenges in 2017 that it’s killing me to not start one of the 12 books already! But what about you? Do you have any resolutions this year? I’d love to know, or please point me in the right direction if you’ve got a blog post of resolutions yourself!

But for now, keep safe tonight and party hard, and I wish you all a Happy New Year!

steve-buscemi-loves-dancing

20 thoughts on “My 2017 Blogging Resolutions

  1. These are such fun goals! It looks like you have some cool titles on your TBR list. Felicia and Anna’s autobiographies are on my list too. Congrats on watching 150 movies – that’s super impressive! Good luck with your plans in the new year!! πŸ˜€

    Like

    • Ooh you’ll have to let me know what you think of them then!
      I actually really want to watch a movie tonight but the thought of ending the year on such a nice, round figure is putting me off, as crazy as that sounds!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Bye bye 2016! End of year recap & musings on favorite films we saw this year

  3. lol at completing a video game. That was always a big problem for me as well when I used to play, was that I very rarely actually finished them. Probably one of the reasons I eventually lost interest in gaming. πŸ˜› Pretty cool goals you’ve got here, though. Good luck with them in the new year!

    Like

  4. These goals sound exciting! 150 movies sounds like a pretty big task but I’m sure you can pull it off, Allie. I’m excited to see what games you play. I’ll be your game consultant if you need any help choosing. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  5. Pingback: Book Review: The Woman in Cabin 10, Ruth Ware | Often Off Topic

  6. Impressive goals! 150 films is mountain but you can do it!! Kudos on the book list too, I’m lucky if I get through 3 in a year.

    Excellent goals – and

    There is always time for a Buscemi gif πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Good luck with the resolutions! Wow – 150 movies! : ) I’m really bad about completing my IMDB Top 250 Project but, in the four years since I started it, I’ve watched 44 I hadn’t seen and I absolutely loved several of them so it’s been very rewarding. But I still find it hard to “force” myself to watch classics for some reason. I manage about a book a month so my goal is 12, too. This year I’m aiming to mostly read books being made into movies this year (reading The Circle right now, which is a Tom Hanks movie out soon). Mr Mercedes is all I’ve read from your list but I got The Fireman for Christmas and am really looking forward to it. So I hope we both manage to read that one at least! : )

    Like

    • I tried on my old blog to do the IMDB Top 250, I even picked movies from there as my Blind Spot picks, but some of the ‘classics’ are just so hard to watch, and don’t appeal to me in the slightest!
      I’ve just started reading The Fireman actually! It’s a long one and it’s started quite slowly, but it’s pretty darn good so far πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

