Review: Passengers (2016)

Somehow, I managed to put the left over turkey down long enough to make it to the cinema yesterday! Whilst holding off the temptation to see Rogue One again, I made myself see Passengers. Don’t get me started on the trailer that gives away the whole movie, but I was excited to see Chris Pratt and Jennifer Lawrence in space. I mean, that’s a winning combo for sure, right?

passengers-movie-review-2016

I’m going to warn you right now of possible spoilers in this review. Normally I keep my posts safe, but I’m not sure how with this one, so if you’re really looking forward to seeing Passengers, just go ahead and bookmark this page for later!

So, you’ve seen the trailer, you know the plot. Jim (Chris Pratt) and Aurora (Jennifer Lawrence) are passengers on this huge ship headed for a new planet. The journey will take 120 years, so them and the rest of the passengers are held in suspense pods to keep them preserved. But something happens, and they wake up too early. 90 years too early. Then here’s the movie’s tagline, “There’s a reason they woke up”. Hoo boy, what could the reason be? Sabotage? Were they chosen for something? By someone?

passengers-2016-chris-pratt-jennifer-lawrence

No. Sadly, there literally isn’t a reason they woke up. Well, we learn how they woke up, but there’s nothing that special about it. Passengers could possibly be the most wrongly advertised movie I’ve ever seen because of that. The plot is kind of lame, and pretty predictable. And yet, it’s still fun to watch. Jim is the first to awake, and I think I’d have been happy with the whole movie being about him exploring the ship. The scene in the cafeteria where he learns that everything but a plain, large coffee is reserved for ‘gold’ members only is kinda hilarious, and there’s plenty more dry humour scattered about.

It’s also super pretty to watch on the big screen. No expenses were spared in the visual department, and the ship itself and the space in which it’s travelling is beautiful, if not a little empty. Plus, with two of the hottest stars in the movie industry as our leading couple, this is going to please both parties on a cinema date, let’s face it! It’s much funnier than I thought it would be, Martin Sheen’s robotic barman was full of character and never fails to provide a few laughs here and there.

passengers-2016-martin-sheen-barman

Now I’m really going into spoiler territory, so I’m changing the font colour to help you skip. I wasn’t expecting Laurence Fishburne to turn up, angry bout the fact someone plated a tree on his ship. Sadly, it was kind of obvious that his only purpose was to open the locked door of the command bridge and then die 5 minutes later, after giving Jim and Aurora his security pass. Sigh.

So all in all, Passengers isn’t 2016’s greatest Sci-Fi by a long shot, but there are certainly much worse ways to spend 2 hours of your life. This movie gets 3/5 large coffees from me!

passengers-review-large-coffee

22 thoughts on “Review: Passengers (2016)

  1. Nice review! I didn’t really have a lot of interest on seeing Passengers, but me and my sister were coming up with all kinds of ideas during the promotional tour. The twist (what I’ve read of it) was super disappointing. Glad you had fun! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Yeah I really wouldn’t rush out to see it. I guess the biggest twist is that there isn’t one! If we’re thinking about the same thing it just comes up naturally within the movie. It’s a strange one, but fun to watch at least!

      Like

  2. I enjoy this review because I still feel compelled to see it even though I know it’s not been well-reviewed. I almost need permission when there are so many Oscar contenders to take the time to see something of a guilty pleasure.

    Like

  3. I think what annoyed me the most about this is that as you mentioned the tagline saying a reason they woke up. Well, he woke her up and I think it would have been so much better if we didn’t actually no about that before hand it would have given at least a better plot line.

    Like

  4. I agree that it was sooo predictable and that the whole film was given away by the trailer, but I loved it anyway.

    There was something about the way that it was made that was great. Visually it was spectacular, the chemistry between the characters worked quite well and I loved the humorous aspects of it all.

    I know I’m in the minority here, but it all fit together nicely

    Like

  5. I quite enjoyed this movie. It is terribly predictable at times and there’s some serious flaws in the physics and just plain logic during the climax but mostly it is an entertaining film. The two stars really did keep things rolling along and drew you into their world for the duration of the film. Thanks for sharing your review.

    Like

  6. You’ve convinced me to wait until this one shows up on Netflix or whatever. Not dropping ten bucks on a ticket that didn’t even score four coffees. Still though, I bet those two were fantastic together.

    Like

    • With all the other great movies coming out now, I would definitely skip this. But it is SO worth a watch when it hits Netflix, because it’s still a lot of fun, and you’re right, they have great chemistry together πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

